The Rock-Climbing Wall- for Austin

When my son was 10 or 11, we went to a school fair that had a rock-climbing wall. For the price of a few dollars, you could put on the safety gear and challenge yourself. Austin headed straight for it without hesitation.

While gazing up from the safety of the ground, I watched my son climb higher and higher with confidence and determination. As he made his way up, my heart swelled with excitement for him and I found myself beginning to chant, “You can do it! You can do it!” He made it all the way to the top, rang the bell of victory waiting there, and bungeed down. Seeing the big smile of accomplishment on his face was wonderful… similar to seeing him make the winning out in the championship baseball game, but that is a story for another day.

So very different from his mother who approaches life in the ‘safe’ way, Austin is unafraid to put himself ‘out there’ despite risking failure. From climbing rock walls to expressing his love for others, he realizes that there is no point in holding back. Anyone who knows Austin- really knows him- understands what a good friend he is. If you have a bad day, he is the one who will act so unabashedly goofy to make you laugh that you just can’t help turning your mood around. He is quick to forgive and is known by true friends for his compassion. He celebrates victories with those he loves and shares in their sadness when they have losses in their lives. When he was a very little boy, he loved giving hugs; one of my friends with an older child warned me he would probably outgrow that- he never did and I am so grateful.

My prayer for him and others in my family who are so loved is that they see themselves through God’s eyes and ours- what a glorious day that will be.

Climb on, my son, you’ve got this!

Leave a Reply

