Perfect timing

One of the best moments ever in my nursing career happened today.

We received a patient going for a lung transplant today. Shortly after Mr. W. arrived, I happened to be visiting with a patient  (Mr. L.)  who had the same surgery a week ago. After wearing oxygen for the past year and being unable to leave his home without that life-saving equipment, Mr. L is recovering well and is able to breathe on his own without any supplemental oxygen. He was bored today as his family returned home for a few hours, and asked if there were any other lung transplant patients on our unit.

The light bulb went on over my head like it does in the comics, and I said, “Oh, I think I know just the one- I’ll be right back!”

Mr. W was excited to be meeting him. Taking Mr. L into the room, I got to see both men grin simultaneously and enormously! Mr. W asked, “Hey, buddy! What’s it like to breathe again?” The two became fast friends, and even posed for photos taken by Mr. W’s wife. What perfect and divine timing to see a success story in person right before going into surgery!

I still have chill bumps as I’m writing this, and am so grateful for the opportunity to have witnessed it. Definitely an unforgettable moment!

Leave a Reply

